10-Minute Pizza

April 21, 2012

Why buy frozen pizza when you can make “homemade” pizza in the same amount of time – AND it tastes better and is better for you?!! Although I do occassionally make my own pizza dough, I usually rely on whole wheat naan as my starting point – when you’ve got three kids and they’re always hungry, you’ve got to be able to put something on the table QUICKLY!

So here is how I go about making “10-Minute Pizza”:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees Farenheit. Onto a baking sheet, lay out some whole wheat naan (I always have some handy in the freezer and usually don’t bother defrosting it) and then spread with tomato sauce (I like to use the “Tomato and Basil” sauce from PC’s Blue Menu because it is low in sodium, contains no sugar, and tastes yummy!). Next, add your favourite toppings. I generally like to sautee my veggies first as it brings out so much more of their flavour. As you can see in the photos below, I made two pizzas for the children with diced ham and salami and grated cheese. For my husband, I used up the left-over chicken from the previous nights’ souvlaki dinner, roasted yellow pepper left over from a prior dinner, freshly sauteed mushrooms, and some feta cheese. Place baking tray into your oven and bake until the cheese has completely melted and bread has turned slightly brown (approximately 5 minutes). Serve with a side of salad with homemade Honey Mustard Dressing for the grownups and watch the kids inhale their lunch / dinner!

You will find the recipe for the Honey Mustard Dressing (my absolute favourite dressing!) on my next post.

One Response to “10-Minute Pizza”

  1. Cindy Says:

    Yummy! I have used whole wheat pitas as the crust too. For my sauce I ususally seed and dice some roma tomatoes and heat them in a pot. Just add basil, parsley and diced garlic. The kids love it! Excellent blog Monica!


Leave a Reply

