Greek Yogurt Delight

April 21, 2012

Ever since I started “The 17 Day Diet” (approximately 22 days ago), I have been looking forward to this delightful treat which serves as my afternoon snack almost daily. Though you may find it a bit tart at first, especially if you’re used to eating “regular” flavoured yogurt, I’m sure you’ll quickly grow to enjoy it as much as I do. I don’t think I’ll ever eat yogurt any other way ever again!

Here’s how it’s done:

Place a few spoonfuls plain greek yogurt (I prefer the PC brand one that has 0% fat yet tastes super rich and creamy) into a small bowl. Peel, quarter, and core an apple (Royal Gala is my favourite) and then shred half of the apple onto the yogurt. Grate some lemon peel on top of the apples and then stir everything together. If you want to add more texture, add a few nuts (I usually choose pecans) to your yogurt delight. Then, sit on the couch and ignore the mess the kids have made and the fighting that’s going on elsewhere in the house by your children, and ENJOY!

Use your imagination and preferences to alter this “recipe”. One of my friends omits the lemon rind and adds cinnamon instead. Or, you could add a jar of pureed fruit from a baby jar if you’d rather have a smooth consistency. The possibilities are limitless!

Editor’s Note: I forgot to mention that a heaping of cooked quinoa mixed into the yogurt is also a great way to add protein and increase satiety!

One Response to “Greek Yogurt Delight”

  1. expatlogue Says:

    I think Greek yogurt is just gorgeous as it is, but to make it really indulgent I add honey and mix it in just a little, so that you get these delicious seams of gold running through it, setting off surprise explosions of sweetness as you devour the bowl!
    Guess I’ll have to make sure I eat an apple afterwards 😉


Leave a Reply

