Quinoa Pancakes – Gluten Free!

April 23, 2012

I made these on the weekend and they were a huge hit with my family! You can experiment with a mixture of quinoa flour, whole wheat flour and all-purpose flour to adjust this recipe to your taste. I thought they were fabulous just as they were as per the recipe below, which is from “Quinoa 365 – The Everyday Superfood” by Patricia Green & Carolyn Hemming.

2 1/2 cups quinoa flour

1/4 cup white or cane sugar (I used only 1 Tbsp)

2 Tbsp baking powder (use gluten-free if you are gluten intolerant)

1 tsp salt (I generally omit salt from my baking)

2 1/2 cups milk or soy milk (I used 2 3/4 buttermilk)

2 large eggs

2 Tbsp vegetable oil (I generally use canola oil for baking)

1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Combine dry ingredients. In a separate, medium bowl, whisk together the wet ingredients. Add to the flour mixture and whisk together until smooth. Then prepare as you normally prepare your pancakes. (For Christmas my mother gave me a griddle and now that is my favourite way to cook pancakes. First, I can fit more on the griddle than even my biggest frying pan. Second, I don’t need to use any oil or butter for greasing purposes.)

I usually prefer to eat my pancakes with pure maple syrup, however sometimes I use agave nectar instead since it is lower on the Glycemic Index. And when I’m trying to be REALLY good, then I eat them with plain greek yogurt, grated lemon rind and fresh berries! YUMMY!

Since our family LOVES to eat pancakes, I’ll be posting many more pancake recipes, so stay tuned!

What’s your favourite pancake topping?

Leave a Reply

